FIFA 23: EA Sports announce Women’s World Cup update boasting three new game modes

EA has revealed an awesome update to celebrate the upcoming Women’s World Cup, featuring three new game modes to play on FIFA 23.

This summer sees 32 national teams head to Australia and New Zealand to compete for the Women’s World Cup trophy. And just like for the recent Men’s tournament in Qatar, EA has added some official content for the occasion onto FIFA 23.

So far, the gaming giant has confirmed that this free update will arrive towards the end of June. There is currently no specific date for when this new content will become available.

Nevertheless, the promise of an authentic FIFA Women’s World Cup experience on FIFA 23 will undoubtedly help build hype toward this summer’s tournament. So, what does EA have in mind with regard to content?

Three Women’s World Cup game modes coming to FIFA 23

There will be three different ways to experience the WWC on FIFA 23.

Firstly, a traditional kick-off mode will give users the chance to drop into a quick match using the official World Cup content. This includes all 32 teams, the players, as well as the official match presentations and branding.

In kick-off mode, players can go against friends or the CPU. They can also pick to play in a group stage game or increase the pressure by taking on a match in any of the knockout stages.

Alternatively, the tournament mode will enjoy the addition of a FIFA Women’s World Cup update. Here, you can select any of the 32 qualified nations and try to guide them to football immortality through every part of the competition.

Both these modes will allow gamers to play in Stadium Australia – the official ground for the Final.

Lastly, “Lead your Country” is an interesting new way in which to immerse yourself in the Women’s World Cup on FIFA 23. Here, users choose an individual player from any of the qualified nations to control during a game.

So, if you want to play as Sam Kerr and lead Australia to glory, for example, you can.

However, there is a second way in which you can “Lead your Country”. Gamers can create an avatar player themselves, then pick which country they want to represent. From here, your character will help their country try and win the World Cup.

The authenticity of the upcoming additions to FIFA means that we will have 32 Women’s national teams in the game. So, here are all the WWC countries that will soon be on FIFA 23.

The 32 nations competing at Australia & New Zealand 2023

  • Group A: New Zealand, Norway, Philippines, Switzerland
  • Group B: Australia, Republic of Ireland, Nigeria, Canada
  • Group C: Spain, Costa Rica, Zambia, Japan
  • Group D: England, Haiti, Denmark, China
  • Group E: USA, Vietnam, Portugal, Netherlands
  • Group F: Frane, Jamaica, Panama, Brazil
  • Group G: Sweden, South Africa, Italy, Argentina
  • Group H: Germany, Morocco, Colombia, Korea Republic

Featured image credit: EA Sports FIFA