Who Won The First Ever Champions League Final Back In 1955?

The UEFA Champions League, a prestigious symbol in the world of club football, has undergone remarkable transformations since its inception. Initially introduced in 1955 as the European Cup, it was a straight knockout competition, open only to the champion club of each nation. The brainchild of Gabriel Hanot, the editor of L’Équipe, the tournament was inspired by the South American Championship of Champions and aimed to determine the best club team in Europe​​​​.

PARIS- JUNE 13: The Real Madrid line up before the Champions League Final football match against Stade Reims on June 13, 1956 in Paris, France. (Back Row L to R) Juan Alonso, Atienza II, Marquitos, Lesmes, Munoz, Zarraga. (Front Row L to R) Joseito, Marsal, Di Stefano, Rial, Gento.

The Early Years

The first edition of what would become the Champions League was won by Real Madrid, who went on to dominate the competition’s early years, securing the first five titles. The European Cup quickly grew in stature and popularity, drawing in teams from across the continent​​​​.

1968 European Cup Final at Wembley. Manchester United 4 v Benfica 1. United’s George Best holds the trophy on a lap of honour after the match. 29th May 1968. (Photo by Staff/Daily Mirror/Mirrorpix via Moreover, Getty Images)

Expansion and Rebranding

By 1967, the tournament’s liberalization allowed the inclusion of more teams from each participating country, leading to the introduction of a new format with home venues for quarter-final and semi-final second-leg matches. A pivotal change came in 1986 when UEFA permitted runners-up from certain countries to participate, enhancing the competition’s inclusivity and intensity​​.

The European Cup underwent a significant metamorphosis in 1992, rebranding as the UEFA Champions League. This change was more than cosmetic; it reflected a shift towards a more marketable and globally recognizable product. The introduction of group stages and the inclusion of non-champion teams from certain nations were central to this transformation​​​​.

Modern Era Developments

The UEFA Champions League trophy is pictured before the draw for the round of 16 of the 2022-2023 UEFA Champions League football tournament in Nyon on November 7, 2022. (Photo by Fabrice COFFRINI / AFP) (Photo by FABRICE COFFRINI/AFP via Getty Images)

In recent years, the Champions League has continued to expand, incorporating more teams and reflecting the evolving landscape of European football. Furthermore, Financial aspects like TV rights and sponsorships have played a crucial role in this evolution, making the competition a multi-billion dollar enterprise. The modern era has seen the dominance of teams like Real Madrid, Barcelona, and Bayern Munich, and the emergence of iconic players and coaches who have left an indelible mark on the tournament​​.

ISTANBUL, TURKEY – JUNE 10: Ilkay Guendogan of Manchester City lifts the UEFA Champions League trophy after the team’s victory during the UEFA Champions League 2022/23 final match between FC Internazionale and Manchester City FC at Ataturk Olympic Stadium on June 10, 2023 in Istanbul, Turkey. (Photo by David Ramos/Getty Images)


From its humble beginnings as a knockout competition between the champions of each country, the Champions League has evolved into a global phenomenon. Moreover, It has produced some of the most memorable moments in football history and continues to captivate fans worldwide with its passion, drama, and excitement. Today, it stands as a testament to the enduring appeal of club football at the highest level​​.

Notable Milestones

  • First Winner (1955-56): Real Madrid, who set an early tone of dominance.
  • British Breakthrough (1967): Celtic becoming the first British team to win the title.
  • Expansion and Inclusivity (1986): Introduction of runners-up from certain countries.
  • Rebranding to Champions League (1992): Introduction of the group stage system.
  • Modern Dominance: Real Madrid’s unparalleled success with 14 titles, followed by teams like AC Milan, Liverpool, and Barcelona​​​​.