EA confirms FIFA 21 Team of the Year shortlist

Today’s the day, EA is set to unveil this year’s Team of the Year.

The full list of names is expected to be released at around tea time, but we’ve already seen a couple of names confirmed ahead of time.

Kevin de Bruyne is the first definite inclusion, as Manchester City took to Twitter to celebrate another stellar year for the Belgian playmaker.

Real Madrid centre back Sergio Ramos also makes another appearance in the squad, sharing the accolade on his Instagram.

We’ll keep updating throughout the day with any further confirmations, but you can see the full list of nominees below.

A total of 70 players are in contention to make it into the side, which will be comprised of the world’s most in-form names from the past year.

Unsurprisingly, the list is fairly Liverpool-heavy, following another impressive season under Jurgen Klopp.

Bundesliga youngsters, Erling Haaland and Alphonso Davies have both been rewarded with blockbuster breakout seasons with a place on the shortlist too.

The nominees, spread across goalkeepers, defenders, midfielders and forwards are as follows:

EA Sports
EA Sports
EA Sports
EA Sports

The final FUT 21 TOTY squad will be decided by EA SPORTS FIFA community members, who can now vote for the players they want to see in the final Ultimate XI. The FIFA 21 Ultimate Team TOTY voting is live now at EA.COM/TOTY and will close on January 18.

Featured image credit: EA Sports