EA reveals this year’s FIFA Team of the Year XI

EA has unveiled this year’s FIFA Team of the Year XI, celebrating the world’s best-performing players over the last 12 months.

The squad was chosen by EA Sports FIFA community members, who were asked to vote for the final lineup from a list of 70 nominees.

Representing the Premier League, both Trent Alexander-Arnold and Virgil van Dijk make the cut following Liverpool’s incredible title-winning campaign.


Bruno Fernandes’ instant impact at Manchester United has also been rewarded, as has Kevin de Bruyne’s ongoing brilliance in Manchester City’s midfield.

However the biggest talking point is undoubtedly the omission of Lionel Messi, an ever-present in the squad. That’s a revelation undoubtedly spurred on by the ongoing struggles at Barca, who don’t have a single player in the lineup.


With Messi out, the somewhat unfamiliar forward line is made up Cristiano Ronaldo, Robert Lewandowski and Kylian Mbappe.

Alphonso Davies’ blockbuster breakout year has been recognised with a spot in the backline, joining him is Bayern Munich teammate, Joshua Kimmich, who secures a spot in the midfield.

The full Team of the Year XI is as follows:

  • Manuel Neur
  • Trent Alexander Arnold
  • Virgil Van Dijk
  • Sergio Ramos
  • Alphonso Davies
  • Kevin De Bruyne
  • Joshua Kimmich
  • Bruno Fernandes
  • Cristiano Ronaldo
  • Robert Lewandowski
  • Kylian Mbappe

Attacker ratings have already been revealed, with Lewandowski and Ronaldo both getting a boost to 98, while Mbappe hits 97. Ratings for the full squad will be rolled out over the course of the week.

Upgraded cards will be available in packs in the coming days and the usual 12th man addition will also be revealed next week.

Featured image credit: EA Sports