F1: Who holds the record for the most consecutive Grand Prix wins? When Max Verstappen can beat this record in 2023

Max Verstappen’s incredible 2023 campaign leaves him destined to rewrite the Formula 1 record books. One such stat that he is currently threatening is that of the most consecutive F1 wins – but who currently holds this record?

The reigning World Champion rallied from sixth on the grid to take the chequered flag in Belgium last weekend. Verstappen added his Belgian Grand Prix win to his Sprint victory on Saturday to leave Spa-Francorchamps with 33 more points.

As a result, his lead at the top of the standings extended to 125 points.

But that’s not all that the Dutchman took from Round 12. His win in Belgium marked Verstappen’s eighth GP win in a row – a streak that extends all the way back to Miami. Although definitely impressive, the Red Bull Racing star still finds himself just shy of the all-time record.

The most consecutive F1 wins: Sebastian Vettel – 9 GP wins (2013)

Just holding onto the record for the most consecutive F1 wins is another prodigious Red Bull talent. In 2013, Sebastian Vettel won all of the final nine rounds of the championship to claim a stunning fourth WDC.

 His streak began in Belgium, then travelled across Europe, Asia, and the US before his last win in Brazil.

Vettel’s nine-straight victories were part of a 13-win season – a tally that equalled the most P1s ever in a single campaign. However, Max Verstappen’s 15 wins in 2022 surpassed the German icon – and Super Max may take another one of his records soon.

#2: Max Verstappen – 8 GP wins* (2023)

*active streak

Yes, the Dutchman’s current run sees him have the second-most consecutive wins in F1 history. Following a “disappointing” P2 in Azerbaijan, Verstappen has cranked out win after win in 2023.

It is worth mentioning that these eight-straight victories are just Grands Prix – he also has a pair of Sprint wins. They do not count towards career win totals, though.

But when can Max Verstappen tie the record? After the summer break, Verstappen can hold the joint-longest F1 win streak if he wins his home Grand Prix at Zandvoort.

Should he win there, the Red Bull star can surpass Vettel at the Italian Grand Prix and potentially win 10 races in a row.

I would not bet against him achieving it, either.

#3: 7 wins – Alberto Ascari (1952-53), Nico Rosberg (2015-2016), Michael Schumacher (2004)

Finally, three legends saw Verstappen overtake them into second on the list of longest F1 win streaks.

Alberto Ascari wrote the record books during F1’s infancy. He won six out of the eight races in 1952, with all six of them seeing out the season and handing him the title. Ascari then won the opening race of 1953 – the Argentine Grand Prix – to take his tally to seven.

Meanwhile, Michael Schumacher matched his record in 2004, although did it in a single season. During his seventh F1 World title, Schumi had the most consecutive wins ever recorded in one campaign. The Ferrari ace started 2004 by winning five on the trot – but beat this mark later in the season.

Michael stood on the top step on seven occasions between the European and Hungarian GPs. He ultimately won 13 races in 2004 – a then F1 record, too.

Finally, Nico Rosberg’s seven-straight victories crossed over two campaigns. The German won the final three rounds of 2015, setting him up for an outstanding 2016. Rosberg won the first four GPs the following year, bringing his streak to seven.

He also went on to win his sole World Driver’s title that year.

So, Max Verstappen is already high on the list of the most consecutive F1 wins. Can he move to the top in 2023? He may not ever get a better chance to do so.

Featured image credit: Getty