Premier League Player of the Season nominees confirmed

The nominees for the Premier League Player of the Season award have been confirmed today.

Fans can vote from a selection of eight nominees, with the vote opened this morning on EA’s official website.

In FIFA 21, the winner will receive an upgraded Player of the Season card, which is usually attainable via Squad Building Challenges.

Last season, Manchester City midfielder Kevin De Bruyne won the Player of the Season award, and was given a boosted 99-rated card in-game.

Who are the nominees?

PFA Players’ Player of the Year Ruben Dias has been included, as well as his Manchester City team-mate Kevin De Bruyne.

De Bruyne scored six times and added 12 assists. Dias, meanwhile, recorded 19 clean sheets at the heart of City’s title-winning defence.

Dias is the sole defensive representative out of the eight nominees, with the other seven players either midfielders or attackers.

Manchester United‘s Bruno Fernandes is included, as well as Chelsea‘s Mason Mount.

Fernandes has enjoyed a superb first full season in the Premier League, registering 18 goals and providing 12 assists. The Portuguese international was named in FIFA 21’s Team of the Year back in January.

Mount added the Champions League trophy to his stellar Premier League campaign on Saturday as Chelsea defeated Manchester City 1-0 in Portugal.

He was the Blues’ joint-second top league goalscorer, notching six goals. He also added five assists.

Aston Villa midfielder Jack Grealish is also included. The 25-year-old missed the majority of the last three months of the season through injury, but was one of Villa’s vital components when available.

He scored six goals in 26 Premier League appearances, and provided 10 assists.

Also nominated is Golden Boot winner Harry Kane, who scored 23 goals and added 14 assists for Tottenham. No other player was involved in more goal contributions throughout the season.

Liverpool forward Mohamed Salah finished one goal behind Kane in the charts. He has also been nominated for the POTY award.

The final nominee is West Ham midfielder Tomas Soucek, who is another player to have enjoyed a fine first full season in the Premier League.

The Czech Republic international scored 10 goals and provided one assist to help the Hammers to qualify for the Europa League.

FIFA 21 Player of the Year nominees in full

  • Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)
  • Ruben Dias (Manchester City)
  • Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United)
  • Jack Grealish (Aston Villa)
  • Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur)
  • Mason Mount (Chelsea)
  • Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
  • Tomas Soucek (West Ham United)

Featured Image Credit: Getty