Joe Root 10,000 Test runs: The cricket legends he joins in the elusive club

Joe Root brought up a career landmark of 10,000 Test runs as he helped England to record victory over New Zealand in the opening Test of the summer at Lord’s.

Root, who recently relinquished the England captaincy, was in imperious form in the second innings. He scored 115 not out, as his side won by five wickets.

The Yorkshire batter walked to the crease with England in trouble at 32 for two, attempting to chase down 277. He then watched from the other end as Ollie Pope and Jonny Bairstow were dismissed.

When new captain Ben Stokes arrived at the wicket, England were 69 for four. But after a period of consolidation, the Durham all-rounder began to accelerate, and smashed spinner Ajaz Patel for two sixes over deep square leg in one over.

Stokes was out soon afterwards, for 54. But Root carried on going, partnering with Ben Foakes to record an unbroken partnership of 120 that would see England to victory.

In the process, the 31-year-old brought up his 26th Test century. In addition, Joe Root became just the second England player, after Sir Alastair Cook, to bring up 10,000 Test runs.

What did Joe Root say about his remarkable milestone?

Speaking after he was awarded the Player of the Match award, Root told BBC’s Test Match Special: “I just love batting. I want to score as many runs as I can for the group, and it’s nice to do it at the start of the summer.

“It is nice to be spoken about in the same breath as England’s greatest ever batter, Alastair Cook. It is a privilege.”

Captain Ben Stokes added: “What a player. What a man.”

Who does Joe Root join in the 10,000 Test runs club?

After reaching his latest milestone in Test cricket, Joe Root has joined 13 other players in the 10,000 Test match runs club.

Here is the complete list (as per ESPNCricinfo and correct as of June 5, 2022. Matches involving the ICC World XI are also counted):

  • 14. Joe Root (England, 2012-present) – 10,015 runs
  • 13. Younis Khan (Pakistan, 2000-2017) – 10,099 runs
Younis Khan (Image Credit: Getty)
  • 12. Sunil Gavaskar (India, 1971-1987) – 10,122 runs
  • 11. Steve Waugh (Australia, 1985-2004) – 10,927 runs
  • 10. Allan Border (Australia, 1978-1994) – 11,174 runs
  • 9. Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka, 1997-2014) – 11,814 runs
  • 8. Shivnarine Chanderpaul (West Indies, 1994-2015) – 11,867 runs
  • 7. Brian Lara (ICC/West Indies, 1990-2006), 11,953 runs
Brian Lara (Image Credit: Getty)
  • 6. Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka, 2000-2015) – 12,400 runs
  • 5. Alastair Cook (England, 2006-2018) – 12,472 runs
  • 4. Rahul Dravid (ICC/India, 1996-2012) – 13,288 runs
  • 3. Jacques Kallis (ICC/South Africa, 1995-2013) – 13,289 runs
  • 2. Ricky Ponting (Australia, 1995-2012) – 13,378 runs
Sachin Tendulkar (Image Credit: Getty)
  • 1. Sachin Tendulkar (India, 1989-2013) – 15,921 runs

Featured Image Credit: Getty