The teams with the most UEFA Europa League titles after Sevilla’s 2022/23 triumph

Sevilla extended their lead at the top of the most Europa League titles list following their triumph in the 2022/23 final. But which clubs are behind them in the all-time honours roll?

After a tough, incident-packed final in Budapest, the Spanish side eventually defeated Jose Mourinho’s Roma on penalties. The Serie A squad had taken a first-half lead through Paolo Dybala. But Sevilla responded well to going behind, finding an equaliser via a Gianluca Mancini own goal.

Neither team could break the deadlock during extra-time, thus penalties beckoned. And the La Liga side held their nerve best, beating Roma 4-1 on spot-kicks.

So, just how many UEFA Cup/Europa League titles do Sevilla have now?

The most UEFA Europa League wins: Sevilla – 7 titles

Sevilla have a truly incredible record in this European competition. Thanks to seven finals wins, “Los Hispalenses” have the most titles in Europa League history by some margin.

What makes this all the more impressive is that the Andalusian side are undefeated in UEL finals.

Their first win, in 2005/06, saw Sevilla defeat Middlesbrough 4-0. One year later, they beat fellow Spanish side Espanyol to seal back-to-back titles.

A three-peat from 2014-2016 then saw Sevilla defeat Benfica, Dnipro, and Liverpool in three consecutive tournaments. Lastly, their 2020 win over Inter Milan was trophy No.6 before Wednesday night’s success brought Sevilla’s seventh UEL crown.

Liverpool, Juventus, Inter Milan, Atletico Madrid – 3 titles

Italy seemed to rule football in the 1990s, and the Europa League most titles list reflects this. Inter Milan are tied for second all-time with three triumphs in the 90s. They won the 1991, 1994, and 1998 finals – with two of these victories coming against Serie A opposition.

Similarly, Juventus claimed two of their three UEFA Cup titles during this decade. They beat Fiorentina in 1990, then defeated Borussia Dortmund three years later. These added to the Bianconeri’s first win in 1977.

Joining these Italian giants on this Europa League most titles tally is Liverpool. All three of their successes came in the competition’s former guise of the UEFA Cup. 2001 was the Merseyside club’s last triumph in the competition.

Before this, Liverpool won the competition twice during the 70s thanks to two legendary managers – Bill Shankly (1973) and Bob Paisley (1976).

Contrastingly, Atletico Madrid’s trio of Europa League wins have all been in the 2010s. They brought Fulham’s fairy tale run in the competition to an end at the start of the decade to claim their first. Two years after this, Atleti won in 2012 before adding No.3 in 2018.

Nine teams – 2 titles

There are just nine other clubs who have won the Europa League on multiple occasions and thus make this most titles list. The names in here may surprise you.

Firstly, Chelsea and Tottenham join Liverpool as English representatives on this list. The Blues won the 2013 and 2019 tournaments, with Spurs’ successes coming in 1972 and 1984.

Real Madrid also have two UEL trophies to go along with their dominance of the Champions League. Los Blancos took back-to-back UEFA Cups in 1985 and 1986.

Elsewhere, Parma (1995, 1999) ensured that seven UEL finals during the 90s saw the trophy go back to Italy.

2022 winners Eintracht Frankfurt also have a pair of successes, adding their recent win to their 1980 success. Fellow Bundesliga side Borussia Monchengladbach join Frankfurt thanks to two wins in the 70s.

Feyenoord, IFK Goteborg, and FC Porto see out this series of two-time Europa League winners. Behind them, 15 other teams from across Europe have a single Europa League trophy in their club cabinet.

For now, though, Sevilla are truly in a class of their own when it comes to the most Europa League titles. Can anyone get near them in the future?

Featured image credit: Getty