What UEFA’s Wednesday deadline means for Euro 2020 host cities

UEFA have set a deadline of April 7 for host cities to submit plans over the number of fans allowed in their stadiums for Euro 2020.

Currently, 12 cities are set to host the tournament. The semi-finals and final are to be played at Wembley.

However, UEFA president Aleksander Ceferin has stated that the possibility of any game being played behind closed doors is “off the table”.

That therefore means that each host city must guarantee that they will be able to admit fans, or face being dropped as one of the hosts.

Ceferin said last month (quotes via Sky Sports): “We have set a deadline of April 20 for the final decision on the Euros.

“The ideal scenario is to play the tournament in the original 12 venues, but if that is not possible then it will go ahead in either 10 or 11 countries if one or more of the venues cannot meet the required conditions.”

Which countries are currently set to host Euro 2020?

Euro 2020 Wembley
Image Credit: Getty

The 12 countries and cities set to host Euro 2020 are:

  • Azerbaijan (Baku)
  • Denmark (Copenhagen)
  • England (London)
  • Germany (Munich)
  • Hungary (Budapest)
  • Italy (Rome)
  • Netherlands (Amsterdam)
  • Republic of Ireland (Dublin)
  • Romania (Bucharest)
  • Russia (Saint Petersburg)
  • Scotland (Glasgow)
  • Spain (Bilbao)

Who is set to be able to admit fans?

The Daily Mail has previously reported that all 12 host cities have indicated to UEFA that they will be able to admit some fans to stadiums.

However, it has also been reported that there are discrepancies between the percentage of capacity available from country to country.

In line with the roadmap for the easing of lockdown restrictions in England, fans could be permitted to return to sporting events, with stadiums at reduced capacity levels, from May 17.

Leicester’s FA Cup semi-final with Southampton on April 18 at Wembley Stadium is to be used as a test event. 4,000 local residents are set to be allowed entry.

8,000 fans will be able to attend the EFL Cup final between Tottenham and Manchester City on April 25, also at Wembley.

Featured Image Credit: Getty