Who is in the Premier League Hall of Fame? How is it decided?

The Premier League Hall of Fame was launched in April, inducting two star names as its inaugural members.

The Premier League wrote on its official website that the Hall of Fame will “recognise and celebrate the exceptional skill talent of players who have graced the competition since its inception in 1992”.

For a player to be considered, they must have retired as of August 1, 2020, and only the player’s Premier League career is judged upon.

Here’s everything else you need to know about the Hall of Fame:

Who is currently in the Hall of Fame?

Henry Hall of Fame
Image Credit: Getty

The first two inductees were named on April 19 as Alan Shearer and Thierry Henry.

Shearer is the Premier League’s all-time leading goalscorer, having netted 260 times across spells with Blackburn Rovers and Newcastle United. Henry, meanwhile, spent his entire Premier League career with Arsenal, scoring 175 goals and winning two league titles.

The next six inductees were voted for by fans. Two of those inductees were announced Tuesday, with Manchester United legends Roy Keane and Eric Cantona both inducted in the Hall of Fame.

On Wednesday morning, Chelsea‘s all-time leading goalscorer Frank Lampard was inducted, along with another Arsenal icon, Dennis Bergkamp.

How is the Hall of Fame decided?

As mentioned above, the selection of six inductees has been decided via a fan vote. Shearer and Henry were named by the Premier League during the Hall of Fame unveiling.

Fans could select six names from a shortlist of 23 Premier League greats – the vote closed on May 9.

Who was on the shortlist for the Hall of Fame?

The 23 players on the Hall of Fame shortlist – and the clubs they played for – were as follows:

Tony Adams (Arsenal)

David Beckham (Manchester United)

Dennis Bergkamp (Arsenal)

Sol Campbell (Tottenham Hotspur, Arsenal)

Eric Cantona (Leeds United, Manchester United)

Cantona Hall of Fame
Image Credit: Getty

Andy Cole (Arsenal, Newcastle United, Manchester United, Blackburn Rovers, Fulham, Manchester City, Portsmouth, Sunderland)

Ashley Cole (Arsenal, Chelsea)

Didier Drogba (Chelsea)

Les Ferdinand (Queens Park Rangers, Newcastle United, Tottenham Hotspur, West Ham United, Leicester City, Bolton Wanderers)

Rio Ferdinand (West Ham United, Leeds United, Manchester United, Queens Park Rangers)

Robbie Fowler (Liverpool, Leeds United, Manchester City, Blackburn Rovers)

Steven Gerrard (Liverpool)

Roy Keane (Nottingham Forest, Manchester United)

Frank Lampard (West Ham United, Chelsea, Manchester City)

Lampard Hall of Fame
Image Credit: Getty

Matthew Le Tissier (Southampton)

Michael Owen (Liverpool, Newcastle United, Manchester United, Stoke City)

Peter Schmeichel (Manchester United, Aston Villa, Manchester City)

Paul Scholes (Manchester United)

John Terry (Chelsea)

Robin van Persie (Arsenal, Manchester United)

Nemanja Vidic (Manchester United)

Patrick Vieira (Arsenal, Manchester City)

Ian Wright (Arsenal, West Ham United)

Featured Image Credit: Getty