EA Sports reveal the FIFA 2022 Team of the Year attacking nominees

The attacking nominees for the FIFA 2022 Team of the Year have finally been revealed.

The FIFA series has dominated football gaming for more than 20 years. EA Sports’ focus on online play has only furthered their success. Only a few months after FIFA 22’s release, gamers all over the world had already played 460m online matches.

Now, legions of devout FIFA fans will be voting for the best team of the year (TOTY). As usual, they will be starting with arguably the most competitive category: attackers.

TOTY: The most competitive award in football gaming

The TOTY awards first started in 2009, with familiar faces like Steven Gerrard, Kaka, or John Terry making the final team.

Last year, the TOTY was comprised of Cristiano Ronaldo, Robert Lewandowski, Kylian  Mbappe, Bruno Fernandes, Kevin de Bruyne, Joshua Kimmich, Alphonso Davies, Sergio Ramos, Virgil Van Dijk, Trent Alexander-Arnold, and Manuel Neuer.

It was the first time ever with Messi not making TOTY.


FIFA fans will have a week to vote for their favourite players.

Fans will be able to select and share their starting XI for the 2021 Team of The Year during the voting period which begins on Monday, January 10th, 2022 at 04:00pm GMT / 8:00 AM PST and runs until January 18, 2022 at 07:59am GMT / January 17, 2022 at 11:59 PM PST.

Who are the attacking nominees for the FIFA 2022 Team of the Year?

First of all: it’s always three attackers who end up making it to the final list. That will inevitably lead to some harsh exclusions, just as Messi’s last year.


Younger stars like Erling Haaland or Kylian Mbappe will fight for a spot, but it won’t be easy.

One fun fact is that two of the first three attackers to ever appear in a TOTY team have been nominated for the 2022 Team. As you’ve probably guessed by now, the familiar faces are Cristiano Ronaldo and Messi.

The two former rivals will go against fellow veterans Karim Benzema, Robert Lewandowski, and Neymar. There’s some English representation as well, with Manchester City’s Jack Grealish and Spurs’ Harry Kane making the cut.


It’s an interesting list that includes a few fan-favourite underdogs, such as Lille’s Jonathan Davis and Ajax’s Dusan Tadic.

With only three spots to claim and dozens of all-time great players, the attackers nomination for the FIFA 2022 team of the year will surely generate a lot of heated discussion in the next few days.

Fans can vote for their favourite attackers by following this link.