EURO 2020: Host cities reveal their plans for fan allocations

A number of the 12 proposed host cities for Euro 2020 have now revealed their plans for fan allocations this summer.

UEFA set a deadline of April 7 for cities to submit their plans, with the final decision over the hosting of the tournament set to be made on April 20.

UEFA president Aleksander Ceferin said last month (quotes via Sky Sports) that the plan was still for 12 cities to host the event, but “if that is not possible then it will go ahead in either 10 or 11 countries if one or more of the venues cannot meet the required conditions.”

Although some countries have publicly declared their plans in terms of fan allocations, the position of others remains unclear.

Let’s take a look at where each of the 12 countries currently stands:


England are due to host seven matches at Euro 2020 at Wembley Stadium, including both semi-finals and the final.

Up to 10,000 spectators will be allowed into grounds from May 17, with unlimited numbers set to be permitted from June 21.

England will host a series of test events prior to Euro 2020, including the EFL Cup and FA Cup finals at Wembley.

The FA plans to permit 21,000 fans to attend the latter event.


Glasgow’s Hampden Park is due to host four games, including one last-16 clash.

The Scottish government announced on Wednesday that 12,000 fans would be permitted to attend each of the games.


The Johan Cruyff Arena in Amsterdam is also set to host four games, including a last-16 tie.

The Dutch Football Association (KNVB) confirmed on Wednesday that at least 12,000 fans will be able to attend each game.


Copenhagen’s Parken Stadium will also stage four games.

Denmark were one of the first countries to publicly announce their plans. Last month, their culture ministry said that at least “11,000-12,000 spectators” will be permitted in the stadium for all four games.


Krestovsky Stadium in St. Petersburg has four games, including one quarter-final.

Russia expects to be able to allow fans to attend those games.

The Russian committee’s director Alexei Sorokin said he believed matches could be played “with the minimum of possible restrictions”. (via BBC)

“We already have an agreement to fill the stands to 50% capacity,” Sorokin said. “We are working to welcome foreign supporters and this has not been rejected by the authorities.”


Bucharest’s National Arena is set to play host to three group games and a further last-16 tie.

Romanian minister of sports Eduard Novak says that a maximum of 13,000 fans will be permitted to attend the games.


The Stadio Olimpico in Rome will host four matches, including the tournament opener between Turkey and Italy on June 11.

Italy’s government has confirmed that fans will be allowed to attend, but are yet to announce specific numbers.

In a statement (via ESPN) Italian Football Federation president Gabriele Gravina said: “Health Minister Roberto Speranza has told us that the government scientific advisers will identify the best solutions to allow the public to be at the Olympic Stadium in Rome for the European Championships.”


Baku’s Olympic Stadium is set to co-host Group A alongside Rome.

However, they are yet to confirm fan admission plans.


Munich’s Allianz Arena is set to host three group games and one of the quarter-finals.

Germany, however, haven’t confirmed their plans for fan admissions for any of the games.


Hungary are another country yet to publicly announce what their plans are for this summer.

Budapest’s Puskas Arena is due to host four games in total during Euro 2020.

Republic of Ireland

Dublin is one of the host cities most at risk of not being able to host Euro 2020 fixtures.

The Aviva Stadium is due to hold four matches, although the FAI told UEFA that it cannot currently “provide assurances on minimum spectator levels” due to COVID-19 restrictions.


Spain’s participation as a host country has also been thrown into doubt.

In a statement (via Goal), the Spanish Federation of Football (RFEF) says that it is “impossible to comply” with strict coronavirus rules in the Basque region.

The San Mames Stadium – home of Athletic Bilbao – is due to co-host Group E.

Featured Image Credit: Getty