FIFA World Cup 2022: Which UEFA nations have qualified and which have gone through to the playoffs?

The group stage section of the UEFA qualifiers for the 2022 World Cup has finally been completed after another week of thrilling international action.

A total of 10 European teams have qualified for the showpiece event by winning their qualifying groups. They join Brazil, Argentina and host nation Qatar as the teams confirmed to be appearing at next winter’s World Cup.

For the 10 teams who finished as runners-up in the UEFA qualifying groups, they now must take on the second round – the playoffs – to reach the World Cup. Austria and Czech Republic are also involved due to finishing outside the top two in qualifying but being the highest-ranked Nations League group winners.

Let’s take a look at which UEFA nations have qualified for the World Cup and which teams have more still to do in the playoffs:

Which UEFA nations have qualified for the World Cup?

After winning Group J last month, Germany became the first UEFA side to qualify for the 2022 World Cup.

Hansi Flick’s side finished their campaign with nine wins and a loss from their 10 games, finishing nine points ahead of second-placed North Macedonia.

Eight nations sealed qualification during the recent international break. Netherlands needed a 2-0 win over Turkey on the last matchday to qualify as Group G winners. Serbia, meanwhile, defeated Portugal in a winner-takes-all match to top Group A.\

Here is the complete list of teams that secured automatic progression:

  • Serbia (Group A winners)
  • Spain (Group B winners)
  • Switzerland (Group C winners)
  • France (Group D winners)
  • Belgium (Group E winners)
  • Denmark (Group F winners)
  • Netherlands (Group G winners)
  • Croatia (Group H winners)
  • England (Group I winners)
  • Germany (Group J winners)

Which UEFA nations are in the playoffs?

Portugal FIFA 2022 World Cup playoffs
Image Credit: Getty

A total of 12 teams have qualified for the playoff stage. They include Portugal, who lost against Serbia in the final match of Group A.

Amongst the other high profile names involved in the playoffs are Euro 2020 winners Italy. Roberto Mancini’s side failed to win either of their last two qualifying games against Switzerland and Northern Ireland.

Here is the complete list of teams that have qualified for the playoffs:

  • Portugal (Group A runners-up)
  • Sweden (Group B runners-up)
  • Italy (Group C runners-up)
  • Ukraine (Group D runners-up)
  • Wales (Group E runners-up)
  • Scotland (Group F runners-up)
  • Turkey (Group G runners-up)
  • Russia (Group H runners-up)
  • Poland (Group I runners-up)
  • North Macedonia (Group J runners-up)
  • Austria (Nations League Group B winner)
  • Czech Republic (Nations League Group B winner)

How do the FIFA World Cup 2022 playoffs work?

The semi-final draw for the playoffs is split into two groups, featuring six unseeded teams and six seeded teams. The seeded teams are those that had the best records in qualifying.

Those seeded teams will be allocated into each of the six semi-finals, which comprise three separate paths.

From there, the six semi-finals take place, and the winners will advance into the Path A, Path B and Path C finals.

The three winners of the playoffs finals will progress to the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar.

When do the FIFA World Cup 2022 playoffs take place?

The semi-finals for Path A, Path B and Path C will take place on March 24, 2022. They will be played over one leg.

The final for each of the three Paths will then take place on March 29, 2022. The winners of the three finals will qualify for the FIFA 2022 World Cup.

Featured Image Credit: Getty