Gareth Southgate announces extended Euros squad

Gareth Southgate has revealed his provisional Euros squad which will be whittled down to a 26-man selection.

The manager had initially been expected to announce his final squad today, though has opted for a larger provisional group ahead of his official tournament side.

With Manchester City and Chelsea set to face off in the Champions League final on Saturday, and Manchester United playing Villarrel in the Europa League final on Wednesday, Southgate has given himself a little extra breathing room in case any national players don’t come through those games unscathed.

UEFA have allowed coaches to pick an extra three names ahead of next month’s competition, following the congested schedules most players have faced this campaign due to the pandemic.

Gareth Southgate’s provisional England squad is as follows:

Goalkeepers: D Henderson, S Johnstone, J Pickford, A Ramsdale

Defenders: T Alexander-Arnold, B Chilwell, C Coady, B Godfrey, R James, H Maguire, T Mings, L Shaw, J Stones, K Trippier, K Walker, B White

Midfielders: J Bellingham, J Henderson, J Lingard, M Mount, K Phillips, D Rice, J Ward-Prowse

Forwards: D Calvert-Lewin, P Foden, J Grealish, M Greenwood, H Kane, M Rashford, B Saka, J Sancho, R Sterling, O Watkins

Southgate will address the media at 2pm BST.

Featured image credit: Getty