Roy Keane joins Cantona as fourth Premier League Hall of Fame inductee

Former Manchester United captain Roy Keane has become the fourth player to be inducted into the Premier League Hall of Fame.

He joins Eric Cantona, who was announced earlier on Tuesday, as well as Alan Shearer and Thierry Henry who were announced last month.

Keane and Cantona are the first of six names to be inducted via fan vote from a 23-man shortlist.

“I feel very lucky to be inducted but I’ve only been inducted because of the players I’ve played with,” Keane on his inclusion.

“Signing for Manchester United and walking into a brilliant dressing room [was the highlight of my career],” Keane said of his move from Nottingham Forest for a British-record fee in the summer of 1993.

He also reserved special praise for his manager at Forest, Brian Clough, who brought him from Cobh Ramblers in County Cork, Ireland to the Premier League.

“Brian Clough [was my biggest influence] for signing and giving me my debut and his advice before my debut was telling me control the ball, pass it to my team-mate and run, that was the foundation of my career.”

Keane made a total of 366 appearances for United, leading the club to seven titles in an illustrious career that cemented his status as one of the great Premier League captains.

Who makes up the rest of the shortlist?

  • Tony Adams
  • David Beckham
  • Dennis Bergkamp
  • Sol Campbell
  • Andrew Cole
  • Ashley Cole
  • Didier Drogba
  • Les Ferdinand
  • Rio Ferdinand
  • Robbie Fowler
  • Steven Gerrard
  • Frank Lampard
  • Matt Le Tissier
  • Michael Owen
  • Peter Schmeichel
  • Paul Scholes
  • John Terry
  • Robin van Persie
  • Nemanja Vidic
  • Patrick Viera
  • Ian Wright

Featured image credit: Getty