FIFA 22 Team of the Year revealed

The full FIFA 22 Team of the Year has now been revealed by EA Sports.

The team, which has been voted for by fans, is led by Robert Lewandowski and Lionel Messi.

Bayern Munich forward Lewandowski won The Best FIFA Men’s Player award earlier in January. Paris Saint-Germain star Messi, meanwhile, was crowned as the 2021 Ballon d’Or winner back in November.

In addition, completing the attacking trio is Paris Saint-Germain forward Kylian Mbappe. The Frenchman smashed in 51 goals over the course of the calendar year.

YouTube video

The FIFA 22 Team of the Year midfield, meanwhile, has a Premier League flavour to it. N’Golo Kante has been voted into the team after his Champions League heroics with Chelsea last season.

Jorginho, who partnered Kante in midfield in the Blues’ trophy-winning campaign, is also voted in. In addition to winning Europe’s biggest prize, he also played a key role in Italy’s Euro 2020 triumph. Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne is also in the team. He created 3.7 chances per 90 minutes last season. That’s more than anybody else in the league (over 500 minutes played).

YouTube video

The defence contains players from Paris Saint-Germain and Manchester City. Rapid wing-back Achraf Hakimi is included after guiding Inter Milan to the Scudetto last season. Furthermore, he has started this season strongly for new club PSG as well, scoring three goals and providing three assists in 18 Ligue 1 appearances.

In addition, alongside him is PSG captain Marquinhos. Ruben Dias and Joao Cancelo are also in after helping City to the Premier League title last season. Dias finished on the winning side in 32 league matches – more than any other player.

YouTube video

Euro 2020-winning goalkeeper Gianluigi Donnarumma is between the sticks. In total, that means there are five PSG players in the team.

The full FIFA 22 Team of the Year

Image Credit: EA SPORTS
  • Gianluigi Donnarumma (Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Achraf Hakimi (Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Marquinhos (Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Ruben Dias (Manchester City)
  • Joao Cancelo (Manchester City)
  • Jorginho (Chelsea)
  • N’Golo Kante (Chelsea)
  • Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)
  • Lionel Messi (Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)
  • Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint-Germain)

Featured Image Credit: EA SPORTS