FIFA 22 Team of the Year midfielder nominees announced

The Team of the Year (TOTY) for FIFA 22 is almost upon us, and fans now have the opportunity to vote for the midfielders that will make up the team.

On Friday, EA Sports revealed the attacking nominees. Star names included Robert Lewandowski, Lionel Messi and Mohamed Salah.

Gamers can now choose which midfielders they would like to fill the starting XI.

The nominees include Chelsea midfielder N’Golo Kante. The Frenchman was once again highly impressive for the Blues in 2021, playing a key part in their path to Champions League glory.

Barcelona starlet Pedri has been nominated after an excellent season for club and country. The 18-year-old totalled 73 games across the 2020/21 season, impressing many with his ability to pick out a pass, close dribbling ability and composure on the ball.

The PFA Player of the Year, Kevin De Bruyne, is also nominated. The Belgian midfielder played another starring role for Manchester City last season. He posted six goals and provided 12 goals during the 2020/21 campaign.

There is also space for Real Madrid duo Luka Modric and Casemiro. Modric won the Ballon d’Or award in 2018, and is still producing fine performances for club and country. He has provided four assists so far during the 2021/22 season.

Manchester United attacking midfielder Bruno Fernandes is also on the nominees list. He has scored 19 goals for his club in this calendar year, and was named Player of the Year for last season by United supporters.

Here is the full list of the nominated midfielders for Team of the Year on FIFA 22:

FIFA 22 Team of the Year – midfielder nominees

Image Credit: EA SPORTS
  • Nicolo Barella (Inter Milan)
  • Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund)
  • Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United)
  • Casemiro (Real Madrid)
  • Dani Olmo (RB Leipzig)
  • Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)
  • Luis Diaz (FC Porto)
  • Fabinho (Liverpool)
  • Nabil Fekir (Real Betis)
  • Phil Foden (Manchester City)
  • Leon Goretzka (Bayern Munich)
  • Jorginho (Chelsea)
  • N’Golo Kante (Chelsea)
  • Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich)
  • Filip Kostic (Eintracht Frankfurt)
  • Manuel Locatelli (Juventus/Piemonte Calcio)
  • Lucas Paqueta (Olympique Lyonnais)
  • Marcos Llorente (Atletico Madrid)
  • Luka Modric (Real Madrid)
  • Mason Mount (Chelsea)
  • Thomas Muller (Bayern Munich)
  • Pedri (FC Barcelona)
  • Declan Rice (West Ham United)
  • Heung-Min Son (Tottenham Hotspur)
  • Marco Verratti (Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Florian Wirtz (Bayer Leverkusen)

Fans will be able to select and share their starting XI for the 2021 Team of The Year during the voting period which begins on Monday, January 10th, 2022 at 04:00pm GMT / 8:00 AM PST and runs until January 18, 2022 at 07:59am GMT / January 17, 2022 at 11:59 PM PST.

Featured Image Credit: EA SPORTS